Camera & audio
Take photos, listen and make calls. These models have no in-lens screen.
Independent comparison · 20 models · UK buying information
Compare what they do, what they need and the trade-offs. With or without prescription lenses.
Three examples of different types of smart glasses. No prescription needed.
Scroll inside the table to compare. Model names stay at the top; feature labels stay on the left.
| Feature | Camera & audioRay-Ban Meta Gen 2£379Recorded UK price · 16 Sept 2026 | Information displayEven G2£599Recorded UK price · 6 Sept 2026 | Personal screenXREAL One Pro£579Recorded UK price · 6 Sept 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|
| What it is for | Everyday photos, calls, music and voice AI. | Captions and presentation prompts without a camera. | A wired personal screen for films, games and work. |
| Advantages |
|
|
|
| Limitations |
|
|
|
| Display | No in-lens display. | Green binocular MicroLED; 640 × 350; 27.5° field of view. | Micro-OLED; 57° field of view; up to 120 Hz; native screen stabilisation. |
| Camera | Built-in camera for photo/video capture.Ultra-wide 12 MP camera, 100° field of view; up to 3K Ultra HD video at 30 fps, up to 60 fps at 1080p | No built-in camera. | No built-in camera; optional camera accessory. |
| Audio & calls | Open-ear speakers; calls and music via the paired phone. | Four microphones; no speakers for music or calls. | Built-in speakers with Sound by Bose. |
| Phone & device needs | Compatible iPhone or Android, Meta AI app and Meta account; internet for AI. | Bluetooth and internet required by the current manufacturer FAQ; Even app. | USB-C with DisplayPort video output; consoles and other sources can need adapters. |
| Battery & power | Up to eight hours moderate use; up to five hours continuous audio. Case adds up to 48 hours (claims). | Two days of intermittent typical use; case offers about seven recharges (claims). | Powered by the connected device for wired viewing. |
| Frame & display fit | Wayfarer, Headliner and Skyler; size and bridge fit vary by style. | A and B frame shapes; adjustable nose pads. Fit depends on the chosen frame. | Two published optical IPD sizes: 57–66 mm and 66–75 mm; try the correct size. |
| Without prescription | Non-prescription clear, sun and Transitions options vary by style. | Non-prescription lenses offered; optional sun clip. | Standard display glasses; prescription insert is an optional addition. |
| Extras & ongoing costs | Lens upgrades cost extra. USB-C charging cable and power source required. | R1 control ring, sun clip and prescription lenses are optional paid additions. | Adapters, corrective lenses and XREAL Eye camera are separate purchases. |
| What the price means | Recorded glasses price. Lens choice and extras may change the total.Check the selected package and final delivered total. | Recorded glasses price. Lens choice and extras may change the total.Check the selected package and final delivered total. | Recorded glasses price. Lens choice and extras may change the total.Check the selected package and final delivered total. |
| UK availability | On saleChecked 16 Sept 2026Order detailsUK price reference: John Lewis lists Wayfarer Gen 2, Matte Black, Clear/Blue non-prescription lenses, product 85900141, at £379 with free standard UK delivery, checked 16 September 2026. This is one configuration, not a lowest-price claim or a prescription quote. Other retailer entries retain their own price-check dates. | On saleChecked 6 Sept 2026Order detailsR1 ring £239. Confirm prescription fitting and authorisation with your chosen UK optician. | On saleChecked 6 Sept 2026Order detailsUK prescription inserts are listed at £45.90–£135.90. Confirm stock and the final lens price before ordering. |
| Evidence | Sources & checked dates
| Sources & checked dates
| Sources & checked dates
|
| Explore this model | Model guide UK buying options | Model guide UK buying options | Model guide UK buying options |
Advantages and limitations are our reading of the cited specifications, not hands-on test results. Battery figures are manufacturer claims under different usage conditions. Recorded prices are dated, not live quotes.
Compare features freely above. If you need corrective lenses, check the exact model, provider and country below. A missing route does not mean the glasses cannot be used without a prescription.
UK-scoped routes and routes needing country confirmation are kept separate. Published limits are not a personal fitting result.
| Lens detail | Camera & audioRay-Ban Meta Gen 2£379Recorded UK price · 16 Sept 2026 | Information displayEven G2£599Recorded UK price · 6 Sept 2026 | Personal screenXREAL One Pro£579Recorded UK price · 6 Sept 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|
| UK-scoped routes | Official / named partnerRay-Ban / EssilorLuxottica via Vision Express (UK)Lenses fitted into the frame
Vision Express publishes −6.00 to +6.00 total power for Gen 2. Use an authorised sales channel to retain the manufacturer's warranty. Source · checked 7 Sept 2026 Independent providerLensology (independent UK reglazer)Lenses fitted into the frame
Lensology describes Click & Fit replacement lenses for Ray-Ban Meta, with no need to send in your frames. Confirm the exact frame, prescription limits, lens options, fitting process, total price, turnaround and warranty implications directly with Lensology. No numerical prescription limit is verified here. Source · checked 12 Sept 2026 | Official / named partnerJohn Rose Eye Care (in-person appointment, UK)Lenses fitted into the frame
John Rose Eye Care publishes −12.00 to +12.00, offers progressives and requires an in-person fitting appointment. Cylinder, reading-addition and prism limits need confirmation. This range applies to this practice. Source · checked 11 Sept 2026 | Official / named partnerLensology (UK)Separate prescription insert
Lensology lists Xreal Air 2 Ultra explicitly; confirm One Pro insert is stocked. Source · checked 6 Sept 2026 |
| Country needs checking | Official / named partnerMeta.com, Ray-Ban.com and certified retailers (Meta's published range)Country not specified in this record. UK service needs confirmation. Lenses fitted into the frame
Meta publishes −12.00 to +6.00 total power (SPH + CYL), including progressives, for orders through Meta.com, Ray-Ban.com and participating certified retailers. The available range varies by retailer. Source · checked 7 Sept 2026 Independent providerVR ROCK (independent replacement lenses, worldwide)Country not specified in this record. UK service needs confirmation. Lenses fitted into the frame
Fits Ray-Ban Meta Gen 2, Gen 1 and the Limited Edition. Frame size is selected from the code on the temple (Wayfarer L 53-22, Wayfarer M 50-22, Headliner 50-23, low-bridge Headliner 51-23, Skyler 52-20). Limits read from VR ROCK's own order form on 13 September 2026: SPH and CYL are chosen from separate dropdowns, so the sphere and cylinder limits apply independently. The CYL dropdown also offers plus-cylinder values to +12.00; the minus-cylinder limit of 10.00 D is recorded here because the checker normalises to minus-cylinder form. Axis 0–180. Free worldwide shipping with no import charges claimed; production quoted at 1–3 days. This is an independent reglazing service, not a Meta or EssilorLuxottica route. Reading addition offered +0.50 to +3.00 for progressive and bifocal orders. Meta's UK prescription page states “The manufacturer's warranty will only remain intact if you get prescription lenses in one of these points of sales” (Ray-Ban.com, a Ray-Ban Store or a certified physical retailer), so using this route may affect the frame warranty. Source · checked 13 Sept 2026 | Official / named partnerEven Realities (online order)Country not specified in this record. UK service needs confirmation. Lenses fitted into the frame
Online orders are single vision; progressive and UltraFit lenses are available through optician partners. Online prescription, cylinder and PD limits need confirmation with Even. Source · checked 11 Sept 2026 | Official / named partnerXreal shop (partner lab, ships from China)Country not specified in this record. UK service needs confirmation. Separate prescription insert
Limits read from Xreal's own EU shop order form on 13 September 2026: SPH -10.00 to +4.00 and CYL -5.00 to +5.00, chosen from separate dropdowns, in a single 1.67 high-index lens. PD is required and can be given as one total or two eye figures; axis 0-180. Xreal's page states “Lenses and services are provided by a trusted third-party partner.” The earlier record of “range not published” is superseded: the figures are on the order form, not in prose. Source · checked 13 Sept 2026 |
| Check your numbers | Check my prescription | Check my prescription | Check my prescription |
Smart glasses can take photos, play audio and handle calls, show captions or directions, or act as a personal screen for films, games and work. Features depend on the model: some have no camera, and some have no in-lens display.
Take photos, listen and make calls. These models have no in-lens screen.
Read captions, prompts or directions. Check each model for cameras, speakers and phone requirements.
Watch, play or work with a display. Wired screens and standalone spatial glasses have different device and power needs.
The connection and power source depend on the type of glasses. These examples use the same sourced specifications as the comparison above.
Check the Phone & device needs and Battery & power rows for your selected models, then open Sources & checked dates for their evidence.
A starting point for prescription and non-prescription buyers. Open a model for its full evidence, exact variants and lens options.
| Model | Use | Display & camera | Recorded UK price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dymesty Cook EdgeAudio glasses | Phone-connected calls, music and voice AI without a camera. | No in-lens display.No built-in camera. | Price not verifiedOn sale · 19 Sept 2026Buying details |
| Dymesty Jobs CircleAudio glasses | Phone-connected calls, music and voice AI without a camera. | No in-lens display.No built-in camera. | Price not verifiedOn sale · 19 Sept 2026Buying details |
| Even G1 AInformation display | Prompts, notifications and directions without a camera. | See-through information display using optical waveguides.No built-in camera. | Price not verifiedNot verified · 13 Sept 2026Buying details |
| Even G2Information display | Captions and presentation prompts without a camera. | Green binocular MicroLED; 640 × 350; 27.5° field of view.No built-in camera. | £599On sale · 6 Sept 2026Buying details |
| Halliday G2Information display | Meeting captions, prompts, music and calls. | Green binocular MicroLED waveguides; 600 × 300 per eye; 25.2° view.No built-in camera. | Price not verifiedPre-order · 6 Sept 2026Buying details |
| Meta Adventurer / Fury / KylieCamera & audio | Hands-free camera, calls, music and voice AI. | No in-lens display.Built-in camera for photo/video capture. | £269On sale · 6 Sept 2026Buying details |
| Meta Ray-Ban DisplayInformation display | Messages, visual AI and navigation with wristband controls. | Colour information display in one lens; not a tethered cinema screen.Built-in camera for photo/video capture. | Price not verifiedLaunch paused · 16 Sept 2026Buying details |
| Oakley Meta HSTNCamera & audio | Camera and audio for everyday use and casual sport. | No in-lens display.Built-in camera for photo/video capture. | £399On sale · 6 Sept 2026Buying details |
| Oakley Meta VanguardCamera & audio | Sports recording and audio with a wraparound frame. | No in-lens display.Built-in camera for photo/video capture. | £462.99On sale · 6 Sept 2026Buying details |
| Ray-Ban Meta Blayzer / ScriberCamera & audio | Camera, calls and voice AI in adjustable optical frames. | No in-lens display.Built-in camera for photo/video capture. | £429On sale · 6 Sept 2026Buying details |
| Ray-Ban Meta Gen 2Camera & audio | Everyday photos, calls, music and voice AI. | No in-lens display.Built-in camera for photo/video capture. | £379On sale · 16 Sept 2026Buying details |
| RayNeo Air 3s / 3s ProPersonal screen | A wired screen for films, games and compatible devices. | Micro-OLED virtual screen. Exact display specifications vary by 3s / Pro variant.No built-in camera. | Price not verifiedOn sale · 6 Sept 2026Buying details |
| RayNeo GT MaxPersonal screen | Private viewing from a compatible phone, computer or console; a wider view and three optical size choices. | 59° field of view; 1920 × 1080 Micro-OLED; 120 Hz 2D / 60 Hz 3D.No built-in camera. | £369On sale · 11 Sept 2026Buying details |
| RayNeo GTPersonal screen | Private viewing from a compatible phone, computer or console; the lighter, lower-cost GT option. | 46° field of view; 1920 × 1080 Micro-OLED; 120 Hz 2D / 60 Hz 3D.No built-in camera. | £289On sale · 11 Sept 2026Buying details |
| RayNeo iOInformation display | Captions, short notes and presentation prompts while keeping a phone in your pocket. | Green binocular MicroLED HUD; 23.5° field of view.No built-in camera. | £429On sale · 11 Sept 2026Buying details |
| Rokid GlassesInformation display | Captions, prompts and navigation with a camera. | Green binocular MicroLED; 480 × 400; 30° field of view.Built-in camera for photo/video capture. | Price not verifiedOn sale · 6 Sept 2026Buying details |
| Specs (consumer)Spatial AR | Spatial apps with voice and hand controls. | Colour waveguide display; 51° field of view (manufacturer claim).Built-in camera for photo/video capture. | £1,995Pre-order · 6 Sept 2026Buying details |
| Solos AirGo V2Camera & audio | Camera, audio and phone-connected AI. | No in-lens display.Built-in camera for photo/video capture. | Price not verifiedNot verified · 16 Sept 2026Buying details |
| VITURE Luma ProPersonal screen | A personal screen for films, games and work. | Micro-OLED virtual display; verify mode-specific resolution for the exact model.No built-in camera on Luma Pro. Luma Ultra has different camera hardware. | Check retailer priceOn sale · 6 Sept 2026Buying details |
| XREAL One ProPersonal screen | A wired personal screen for films, games and work. | Micro-OLED; 57° field of view; up to 120 Hz; native screen stabilisation.No built-in camera; optional camera accessory. | £579On sale · 6 Sept 2026Buying details |